HEGIRA

image

Today! I decided to give my troubles to God
Today! I decided to trust solely in him
Today! I gave up all the Ambiguity in my life and laid it at his feet
Today! I moved a bit farther from the thoughts of my sulky yesterday
Today! I decided to move into a new hope.

Today! I am shocked
I stepped out of the house and the downpour drenched my lovely kaftan
Today! I am bewildered
My car refused to ignite
Today! I hate God
I just got a sack
Today! I feel belittled
Even my son asks “Daddy why”
Today! I feel helpless
Like a Lilly eaten by a goat

I wish it started out as a small still voice
So I will know it is my Lord shining his face on me
As the sunshine hit my window pane
I couldn’t but put on a smile
At least I made it through the night
I lay in my bed, little prayer I could say
“Lord my soul unto thee”
Even if this tea is my last
I drink with all joy

****************************************
Got a call from an office opposite mine
“We heard you are unemployed?”
Oh! My dream job on a platter of Gold
I don’t even need my small car no more
Yesterday I thought the Lord detested me
Yesterday I thought the Lord threw demons in my way
Yesterday I thought I would die from these pains
Yesterday that I gave all to God.
Yesterday the beginning of the end of my pain

Behind every trial and sorrow that He makes us shoulder, God has a reason.
Khaled Hosseini, A Thousand Splendid Suns

4 thoughts on “HEGIRA

Leave a Reply

